TEL XC Open & XC Championship roundup

Nearly 200 athletes of all ages descended on Foxlake Adventures near Dunbar on Saturday 26th January 2019 for the annual Team East Lothian XC Open and XC Championship.  On a sunny winter’s morning, conditions were glorious and, thanks to support from Foxlake Adventures in providing the new venue, runner from all over the country commented on the quality of the course, facilities and organization.

The XC Open started with the Under 9 race.  Cerys Wright (HRC) took the overall win in 8m27s; Daniel Moseley (HRC) was 2ndand first boy in 8m37s; Matthew Connelly (DRC) second boy and Finn Baker third.  Hollye Colles (George Heriot’s) was second girl and Isla Ovenstone (Corstorphine) third.

The Under 11 race followed with 44 juniors taking to the 2km course.  Dylan Daunt (EAC) took the win in 7m49s; Sam Renton (HRC) was second and Fraser Lupton (HRC) third.  Eilidh Ovenstone (Corstorphine) took the win for the girls in 8m42s; Amy Leccia (Corstorphine) was second and Jessica Hendry (Gala Harriers) third.

The U13, U15 and U17 athletes competed together over a longer and hiller 4km course. The overall win was taken by Harry Henriksen (Lasswade U15) in 13m 44s.  Angus Wright (TEL 2ndU15) came second and Joe Donnelly (TEL 1stU17) took third.

Within the age categories, Cameron Bullen (TEL) took second U17 men and Lachlan Rowley (George Heriot’s) third with Angus Chandler (TEL) third U15.

Cera Gemmell (TEL) took the win for the U17 women in 14m50s; Beth Morrow (EAC) second and Lucia Montgomery third.  In the U15 girls: Flora Henry (TEL) took the win in 15m46s; Bridget Harley (TEL) second and Keira Mooney (EAC) third.

The U13 boys saw Innes Wright (TEL) take the win in 15m 21s; Aidan Page (TEL) second and Zico Field (Chirnside) third.  Ruby Russell (Fife AC) took the win for the U13 girls in 16m7s; Olivia Meikle (Lasswade) second and Elena Lee (Moorfoot) third.

Sixty-nine seniors ran an 8km course with Ewan Brown (Corstorphine SM) taking the overall win in 26m41s followed by John Lenehan (EAC SM) second and Callum Reid (EAC SM) third.  Fraser Kelly (TEL) took the win for the U20 in 30m13s.   Isla Scott-Pearce (EAC) was the overall female winner in 32m56s followed by Grace MacKenzie (TEL) second and Jill Morrow (EAC) third.

With prizes sponsored by Joe Forte Sports in Haddington, the annual Team East Lothian event has become a quality fixture in the athletics calendar.  Event coordinators Rhona Anderson and Megan Wright were delighted with the turnout and new location.

The event doubled as the East Lothian XC Championship with Gold medals going to the East Lothian Athlete who won their age category.  Champion Winners were: V60 Willie Jarvie; V50 Mark James and Julie Moffat; V40 Dave Wright and Susanna Harley; Senior Callum Reid and Grace Mackenzie; U20 Fraser Kelly; U17 Joe Donnelly and Cera Gemmell; U15 Angus Wright and Flora Henry; U13 Innes Wright and Ruby Russell; U11 Sam Renton and Elsa McGregor; U9 Cerys Wright and Daniel Moseley.